DECLARATION ON THE DEPOSIT OF THE INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

CONSIDERING that the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast **Asia**, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, **Indonesia**, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

CONSIDERING that Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

CONSIDERING that all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of the French Republic to the Treaty;

THEREFORE, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the **Protocols**, the French Republic has signed its Instrument of Accession to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia on 20 July 2006 in accordance with its internal procedures;

NOW THEREFORE, the French Republic, having acceded to the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the Protocols, the French Republic deposited its Instrument of Accession to the same and recalls that it will faithfully perform and carry out the provisions therein contained.

THIS DECLARATION on the Deposit of the Instrument of Accession of the French Republic to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia is signed by the Minister Delegate for European Affairs of the French Republic.

DONE at Cebu, Philippines, this Thirteenth Day of January in the Year Two Thousand and Seven.

Catherine COLONNA

Minister Delegate for European Affairs of the French Republic

Est Colour

Déclaration sur **l'accession** de la France au **Traité** d'Amitie et de **Coopération** en Asie du Sud-Est

Attendu que le Traite d'amitié et de cooperation en Asie du Sud-Est, signe le 24 février 1976 a Bali, Indonésie, a ete modifie par les premier et deuxième Protocoles d'amendement au Traite d'Amitié et de Coopération en Asie du Sud-Est, respectivement signés les 15 décembre 1987 et 25 juillet 1998;

Attendu que l'article 18, paragraphe 3 du traite susmentionne, tel que modifie par l'article 1 du second Protocole susmentionne, prévoit que les Etats situés en dehors d'Asie du Sud-Est peuvent également adherer au Traite avec le consentement de tous les Etats d'Asie du Sud-Est, soit le Brunei Darussalam, le royaume du Cambodge, la République d'Indonésie, la Republique democratique populaire du Laos, la Malaisie, la Birmanie, la Republique des Philippines, la Republique de Singapour, le Royaume de Thaïlande et la Republique socialiste du Vietnam;

Attendu que tous les Etats d'Asie du Sud-Est ont consenti a **l'adhésion** de la France au Traite;

En consequence, le Gouvernement français, considérant le Traite susmentionne modifie par les Protocoles, a signe son instrument d'adhésion au Traite d'Amitié et de Cooperation en Asie du Sud-Est le 20 juillet 2006 en accord avec ses procedures internes;

En consequence, le Gouvernement fran9ais, ayant accede au Traite susmentionne modifie par les Protocoles, depose son instrument d'adhesion audit Traite et rappelle qu'il executera et mettra en oeuvre toutes les clauses qu'il renferme.

Cette declaration de depot de l'instrument d'adhesion de la France au Traite d'Amitié et de Cooperation en Asie du Sud-Est est signee par la Ministre déléguée aux Affaires européennes.

Fait a Cebu, Philippines, le **treize** Janvier deux **mille** sept.

Catherine **COLONNA**Ministre deieguee aux Affaires europeennes

Hilobur



INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the French Republic, in a letter, dated 11 April 2006, conveyed the desire of the French Republic to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty by the French Republic.

DONE at Cebu, Philippines, this Thirteenth Day of January in the Year Two Thousand and Seven.

For Brunei Darussalam:

MOHAMED BOLKIAH

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

HOR NAMHONG

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia:

DR. N. HASSAN WIRAJUDA

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

DR. THONGLOUN SISOULITH

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

DATO' SERI SYED HAMID ALBAR

Milister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar:

NYAN WIN

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines:

ALBERTO G. ROMULO

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

GEORGE YONG-BOON YEO

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

NITYA PIBULSONGGRAM

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

DR. PHAM GIA KHIEM

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs