## INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE

#### TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of Japan to the Treaty;

**NOW**, therefore, the Government of Japan, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the Protocols, accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained by depositing the instrument of ratification.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Instrument of Accession is signed by the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan.

**DONE** at Jakarta, Indonesia, on the Second Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Four.

川口顺多

Yoriko Kawaguchi

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan



# INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

**WHEREAS** the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and on 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Government of Japan declared its intent to accede to the Treaty as stated in the Declaration on Accession to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia by Japan done in Tokyo on 12 December 2003;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said Declaration, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty by the Government of Japan.

Done at Jakarta, Indonesia, on the Second Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Four.

For Brunei Darussalam

Masna

Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Cambodia

HC)R Namhong

Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia

Dr. N. Hassan Wirajuda

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic

Somsayat Lengsavad

Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs

### For Malaysia

Datak Seri Syed Hamid Albar Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar

**Win Aung**Minister for Foreign Affairs

0

For the Republic of the Philippines

Melin A Albert
ecretary of Foreign Affairs

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

### For the Republic of Singapore

**Prof. S. Jayakumar**Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand

Dr. Surakiart Sathirathai

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam

Nguyen Dy Nien

Minister of Foreign Affairs