

## INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of Mongolia to the Treaty;

**NOW**, therefore, the Government of Mongolia, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the Protocols, accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Instrument of Accession is signed by the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Mongolia.

**DONE** in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, on the Twenty-Eighth Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Five.

MUNH-ORGIL TSEND

Minister for Foreign Affairs

Mongolia



## INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Mongolia in a letter dated 13 June 2005 conveyed the desire of Mongolia to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty by the Government of Mongolia.

**DONE** in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, this Twenty-Eighth Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Five.

For Brunei Darussalam:

PEHIN DATO LIM JOCK SENG Minister of Foreign Affairs II

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

HOR NAMHONG

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia:

DR. N. HASSAN WIRAJUDA

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

SOMSAVAT LENGSAVAD

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

DÁTO SERI SYED HAMID ALBAR

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar:

NYAN WIN

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines:

ALBERTO G. ROMULO

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

**GEORGE YONG-BOON YEO** 

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

DR. KANTATHI SUPHAMONGKHON

Kantathi Sphanust

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

**NGUYEN DY NIEN** 

Minister for Foreign Affairs