INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of New Zealand to the Treaty;

NOW THEREFORE the Government of New Zealand, having considered the Treaty as amended by the Protocols, hereby accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained;

AND DECLARES that, consistent with the constitutional status of Tokelau and taking into account its commitment to the development of self-government through an act of self-determination under the Charter of the United Nations, this accession shall not extend to Tokelau unless and until a Declaration to this effect is lodged by the Government of New Zealand with the Depositary on the basis of appropriate consultation with that territory.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have signed this Instrument of Accession and have affixed hereto the seal of the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade of New Zealand.

DONE in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, on the Twenty-Eighth Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Five.

HON PHILIP BRUCE GOFF Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade



INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade of New Zealand, in a letter dated 29 June 2005, conveyed the desire of New Zealand to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore; the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty by the Government of New Zealand. **DONE** in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, this Twenty-Eighth Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Five.

For Brunei Darussalam:

PEHIN DATO LIM JOCK SENG Minister of Foreign Affairs 11

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

HOR NAMHONG Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia:

DR. N. HASSAN WIRAJUDA Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

SOMSAVAT LENGSAVAD Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

DATO' SERI SYED HAMID ALBAR Minister of Foreign Affairs For the Union of Myanmar:

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines:

ALBERTO G. ROMULO Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

GEORGE YONG-BOON YEO Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

Cantath.

DR. KANTATHI SUPHAMONGKHON Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

NGUYEN DY NIEN Minister for Foreign Affairs