INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and 25 July 1998, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of the Republic of Korea to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Republic of Korea, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the Protocols, hereby accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Instrument of Accession is signed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade of the Republic of Korea.

DONE in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, on the Twenty-Seventh Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Four.

Ban Ki-moon

Minister/of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Republic of Korea



INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First and the Second Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987 and on 25 July 1998 respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Second Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia may accede to the Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade of the Republic of Korea, in a letter dated 18 October 2004, conveyed the desire of the Republic of Korea to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty by the Republic of Korea.

DONE in Vientiane, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, on the Twenty-Seventh Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Four.

For Brunei Darussalam

Mohamed Bolkiah Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Cambodia

HOR Namhong

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia

Dr. N. Hassan Wirajuda Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic

Somsavat Lengsavad

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia

Dato Seri Syed Hamid Albar Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar

Nyan Win

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines

Alberto G. Romulo

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore

George Yeo

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand

S. Sathiathay.

Dr. Surakiart Sathirathai Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam

Le Van BangDeputy Minister for Foreign Affairs