

## In The Name of God

## INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA BY THE ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF IRAN

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, 25 July 1998 and 23 July 2010, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam;

**WHEREAS** all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of the Islamic Republic of Iran to the Treaty;

**AND WHEREAS** the ratification by the Islamic Republic of Iran of the aforesaid Treaty has been completed in conformity with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Iran;

**NOW THEREFORE** I, Mohammad Javad Zarif, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran, declare hereby that the Government of the Islamic Republic of Iran, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols, hereby accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF**, I have signed this Instrument of Accession.

**DONE** at Singapore, this Second Day of August in the Year Two Thousand and Eighteen.

MOHAMMAD JAVAD ZARIF Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran



## INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, 25 July 1998 and 23 July 2010, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

**WHEREAS** the Islamic Republic of Iran, through a letter from the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran dated 13 July 2013, expressed its desire to accede to the Treaty;

**NOW**, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty as amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols, by the Government of the Islamic Republic of Iran.

**DONE** at Singapore, this Second Day of August in the Year Two Thousand and Eighteen.

For Brunei Darussalam:

DATO ERYWAN PEHIN YUSOF Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade II

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

PRAK SOKHONN Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia: .P. MARSUDI 101 Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

SALEUMXAY KOMMASITH Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

SAIFUDDIN ABDULLAH Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar:

U KYAW TIN Union Minister for International Cooperation

For the Republic of the Philippines:

ALAN PETER S. CAYETANO Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

hur

DR VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

DON PRAMUDWINAI Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

PHAM BINH MINH Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs