

AT 8002 /2022

The Permanent Mission of Malaysia to ASEAN presents its compliments to the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta and has the honour to refer to the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement which was signed by all RCEP Signatory Countries on 15 November 2020.

The Permanent Mission of Malaysia to ASEAN has further the honour to enclose herewith the original copy of Instrument of Ratification of the RCEP Agreement, bearing the signature of H.E. Dato' Saifuddin Abdullah, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia.

The Permanent Mission of Malaysia to ASEAN avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the ASEAN Secretariat the assurances of its highest consideration.

17 January 2022



The ASEAN Secretariat JAKARTA

RECEIVED
17 JANUARY 2022
LEGAL SERVICES AND AGREEMENTS DIRECTORATE



SENIOR MINISTER MINISTER OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE AND INDUSTRY

MITI.700-11/3/14 (15) **4** January 2022

H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi Secretary General of ASEAN

Dear Excellency,

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry of Malaysia presents its compliments to the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta, and with great respect, refers to the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement which was signed by all RCEP Signatory Countries on 15 November 2020.

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry of Malaysia has the honour to hereby deposit with the Secretary General of ASEAN, the Instrument of Ratification signed by H.E. Dato' Saifuddin Abdullah, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia.

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry of Malaysia avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the ASEAN Secretariat the assurances of its highest consideration.

Thank you.

MOHAMED AZMIN ALI



INSTRUMENT OF RATIFICATION

WHEREAS the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement (hereinafter referred to as "the Agreement") was signed at a virtual ceremony on the sidelines of the 4th RCEP Summit witnessed by the Leaders on 15 November 2020 by 10 ASEAN Member States and five (5) ASEAN trading partners namely Australia, China, Japan, Korea and New Zealand;

AND WHEREAS Article 20.6.2 of the Agreement stipulates that the Agreement shall enter into force for those signatory States that have deposited their instrument of ratification, acceptance, or approval, 60 days after the date on which at least six signatory States which are Member States of ASEAN and three signatory States other than Member States of ASEAN have deposited their instrument of ratification, acceptance, or approval with the Secretary-General of ASEAN who is designated as the Depositary for the Agreement (hereinafter referred to as "the Depositary");

AND WHEREAS Article 20.6.3 of the Agreement further provides that after the date of entry into force of the Agreement, the Agreement shall enter into force for any other signatory State 60 days after the date on which it has deposited its instrument of ratification, acceptance, or approval with the Depositary.

NOW THEREFORE, the Government of Malaysia, having considered the Agreement, hereby notifies the Governments of other signatory States of Malaysia's completion of its applicable legal procedures and of Malaysia's participation in the Agreement which shall enter into force 60 days after the date on which Malaysia's Instrument of Ratification is deposited.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have signed and sealed this Instrument of Ratification at Putrajaya, Malaysia on this Thirteenth day of January in the year Two Thousand and Twenty Two.

SAIFUDDIN ABDULLAH Minister of Foreign Affairs Malaysia